I think copyright laws are a great idea. People deserve recognition and payment for their works. Most normal people don't expect handouts such as groceries or new shoes... but somehow we expect music and books and pictures to be handed to us on a silver platter. And to a certain extent they are. Copyright laws will never stop EVERYONE from stealing material, especially with the internet providing a medium that almost anyone can steal with. I don't think that copyright laws can ever be harmful. It's kind of like speed limits. Speed limits will never harm anyone. Nobody keeps them, but they surely can't hurt. Copyright laws, as I understand them at least, can only provide protection for people and their works.
I see no reason for changes to be made. Some people will continue breaking the law and others will continue creating works that need a copyrights. Stronger copyright laws might be a positive change, but the enforcement of those changes seems impossible to me, especially since so little is being done right now.
No comments:
Post a Comment